Ink Blending Over Colored Cardstock

Welcome back, crafty friends! Today I wanted to share how simple it is to make a card by ink blending over colored cardstock. I use a lot of white cardstock in my crafting, so I wanted to stretch myself and find some fun uses for my CARDSTOCK FROM BRUTUS MONROE.

 

I grabbed a piece of light blue cardstock, and then used a stencil to ink blend on some thick, bold striped with my LOCOMOTIVE INK. I love the two tones of blue against each other!

Ink blended stripes with Brutus Monroe Surface ink, and die cuts by Winnie and Walter. Marie Nicole Designs

After my cardstock background was finished, I carefully peeled up my stencil and cleaned up my area. I also wiped off my fingers so I wouldnt leave smudges anywhere on my card.

I grabbed my MAGGIE’S ROSE CUTAWAY dies from Winnie and Walter and just cut out the fine detail part with white cardstock. I adhered the dies to the corners of my card front using my ZIG GLUE PEN. This pen is fantastic for adhering small dies or embellishments to your cards.

Ink blended stripes with Brutus Monroe Surface ink, and die cuts by Winnie and Walter. Marie Nicole Designs

My next step was to add some shimmer inside my die cut areas using my CLEAR WINK OF STELLA GLITTER BRUSH. I added about two coats of this, and love the sparkle it added!

Ink blended stripes with Brutus Monroe Surface ink, and die cuts by Winnie and Walter. Marie Nicole Designs

Next, for the sentiment, I stamped and embossed a little “hello” to the right of the big flower die. I am not sure I completely like this sentiment choice- what do you think?

To finish off the card, I added my DIAMOND SEQUINS from Nuvo. These sequins have been finding a way onto almost every one of my cards lately! I love how they pick up any color you are working with.

Ink blended stripes with Brutus Monroe Surface ink, and die cuts by Winnie and Walter. Marie Nicole Designs

Thanks for stopping by today! I hope this gives you some inspiration on how to create with colored cardstock vs. just plain white! I have a few more ideas in mind for cards using colored cardstock.

Please hop along to the with the Brutus Monroe Inspiration Team today to see how they used cardstock creatively in their crafting, as well!

2 Comments Add yours

    1. Love it! Your sentiment is perfect. I think that if it was any bigger it would detract from the overall design. So glad that I’m not the only one that has to get the ATG instructions every time.

      Like

Leave a comment