Simple Christmas Watercolor Cards

Christmas is fast approaching, and if you need to make some last minute cards these designs today are easy and require minimal supplies.

I used my Gansai Tambi Watercolors but you can use any watercolors you have on hand. Add some paintbrushes, watercolor paper, and fun dies for snowflakes and sentiments and you can replicate these!

SIMPLY STRIPED

For this first card, I simply painted three stripes. The maroon stripe on the bottom is fairly thick, the middle stripe is gold watercolor and thin, and the olive color stripe on top is a medium thickness.

I tried to keep the stripes in a sort of block-y shape (it kind of reminds me of those shirts we wore back in the early 00’s).

Over the striped I added the sentiment from alpha letter dies I painted and cut. I love the flourish-y font.

Then of course, I finished the card with a glittery gold snowflake.

ON AN ANGLE

This card is created much the way as the first. I used the same maroon, gold, and olive watercolors. This time, the bottom maroon color covers the whole bottom corners of the card and is on an angled slant.

The gold stripe follows the bottom maroon color block, and the olive color is in a triangle block right above the gold.

Now, I wanted a little texture in my design. This wasn’t very important with our first card because I used only stripes, but with a larger block of color I wanted to break up the monotony with some dots.

I used the same olive color but with a higher concentration of color and just added dots over the dried olive triangle.

Just like my first card, this one has a flourish-y font JOY and some glittery snowflakes. I also added some flat-backed pearls. For more shine, ya know.

Anyway, grab those watercolors and do some Christmas color-block! It’s fun, easy, and quick. You may actually get those cards in the mail this year!

Thanks for taking the time to stop by.

Until next time,
Marie Nicole

SUPPLIES USED

Leave a comment