Heat Embossing over a Stencil

Hey there, crafty friends! Thanks for joining me again! It’s no secret that I love heat embossing! When I first joined the crafting world, I remember seeing heat embossing for the first time. I thought it was magic (it kind of is)!

 

There are so many fun techniques you can do with heat embossing. One very simple technique I want to show you today is embossing over a stencil. Fun to see what your background looks like after using this technique!

Heat embossing over a stencil. Brutus Monroe Raven embossing powder. Marie Nicole Designs

I started this card by grabbing a stencil by TCW and then laying it over my cardstock. Then, I took my cube of BRUTUS MONROE EMBOSSING INK and smooshed it down over the stencil.

After I felt I had enough ink applied, I removed the stencil carefully and then added some RAVEN EMBOSSING POWDER over the ink. Its fun to see how well the embossing powder is going to stick and what the background is going to look like. Doing this technique definitely will not always produce a crisp, perfect embossed image, but it works well if you want a loose background.

Heat embossing over a stencil. Brutus Monroe Raven embossing powder. Marie Nicole Designs

After my background was embossed, I grabbed one of my favorite Surface Ink colors, SPECKLED EGG. I blended this color over the top of my embossed background for some light color.

Then, I started to build a cluster of embellishments. I took some washi tapes, paper scraps, a glassine envelope that I filled with sequins, and a stamped and foiled flower that I fussy cut. I have a POST ON HOW I CREATED THIS LAYERED AND FOILED FLOWER HERE, if you are interested.

Heat embossing over a stencil. Brutus Monroe Raven embossing powder. Marie Nicole Designs

After I decided where I wanted all my bits and embellishments, I glued them down with some liquid adhesive, as well as my ATG. I also added some sewn details in a few spots just for some more interest. One place I added some sewing was to the little shaker bag. I just sewed the top closed to keep the sequins in.

Heat embossing over a stencil. Brutus Monroe Raven embossing powder. Marie Nicole Designs

Like I said, this embossing technique is fun and easy! I love how the RAVEN EMBOSSING POWDER contrasts nicely with some of the colors in the embellishments.

If you’d like to see more heat embossing inspiration, please hop on over to the rest of the INSPIRATION TEAM’s BLOGS! They are so talented!

VERITY BIDDLECOMBE

MARIE HEIDERSCHEIT (<—– YOU ARE HERE)

BERINA FEBIN

CHITRA NAIR

WALESKA GALINDO

Until next time,
Marie Nicole

3 Comments Add yours

  1. veritybiddlecombe says:

    Lovely card. Love watching your process and how you layer 😊

    Like

  2. quilterlin says:

    Love all the varied elements you pulled together for your design, Marie! Thank you for playing with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    Like

Leave a comment