Foiled Shaker Card

Shaker cards are so much fun! I love creating cards that are interactive and a little bit unique.  I will admit, though, that I had a difficult time making shaker cards when I first tried my hand at them. The amount of engineering that goes into them with figuring out how to contain the shaker bits with foam adhesive or other means can be sometimes tedious!

I decided to try to make this shaker card easy by simply sewing my shaker pocket onto my cardstock base with my sewing machine. No foam adhesive needed!

Foiled shaker card with Brutus Monroe surface ink and Therm O Web clear toner sheets

The first thing I did was I cut down a piece of THERM O WEB’S CLEAR TONER SHEET to fit the front of an A2 sized card- so 4.25″x5.5″. Then, using my laminator, I foiled it with some JADE DECO FOIL SHEETS. The green shade of this foil is gorgeous! You can see as I photograph the card at different angles how it shines!

Foiled shaker card with Brutus Monroe surface ink and Therm O Web clear toner sheets

After my CLEAR TONER SHEET was foiled, I used my sewing machine to sew it down to a piece of white cardstock, leaving just one side open. I then filled the sewn pocket with sequins and glitter to create my shaker pocket. Then, I took it back to my sewing machine and sewed up the last side to completely seal in all the shaker bits!

Next, I adhered a heart to the front of my card that I cut out of white cardstock. I colored this heart a little bit using some HONEYSUCKLE SURFACE INK.  After I had some color blended on, I added a die cut sentiment using my LAWN FAWN SCRIPTY LOVE DIE, and then stamped the rest of the sentiment underneath using my RAVEN DETAIL INK.

Foiled shaker card with Brutus Monroe surface ink and Therm O Web clear toner sheets

There you have it! A super simple way to make a shaker card without using a ton of foam adhesive!

If you’d like to see more shaker inspiration, please hop along to the other Brutus Monroe team members’ blogs to see what they’ve created!

VERITY BIDDLECOMBE

WALESKA GALINDO

CHITRA NAIR

MARIE HEIDERSCHEIT <—-YOU ARE HERE

BERINA FEBIN

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Berina says:

    This is gorgeous, Marie!!

    Like

  2. Lovely card. That is a gorgeous toner sheet!

    Like

Leave a comment