I’ve Taken a Viking to You!

Seriously, though… how cute is this sentiment with this stamp? This new stamp set from Brutus Monroe has this fun viking gal with several dragon images. I have seen other viking images, but never a female one. How cool is that?

I colored her in using my STYLEFILE ALCOHOL MARKERS, and then fussy cut her out. I also colored the dragon eggs with my markers, and added some WINK OF STELLA for some shimmer. Dragon eggs shimmer, don’t they?

Brutus Monroe Viking card with ink blended woodgrain background

After the images were colored, I had to decide on a background. I thought something woodgrain would really go along with the viking theme and feel, so I used one of my woodgrain background stamps and stamped it onto some IVORY CARDSTOCK BY CANVAS CORP BRANDS. Then, I did some ink blending over the stamped woodgrain using Brutus Monroe’s MACCHIATO and MAPLE SURFACE INKS. Before I blended, however, I cut the background into strips, so the end result was a number of paper strips that looked like wooden planks.

IMG_5825

I arranged the planks to the background at an angle. I think this just gives it a little more interest. I also started adding some planks to the right hand side coming in from the other direction. This helps pull more focus towards our viking lady.

To go along with the sentiment, I wanted to add a big red heart to the background, so I cut one out using my CRICUT EXPLORE AIR and then blended on some WAGON SURFACE INK and a little MAPLE SURFACE INK. I did a gradual fading of color on the heart to give it that ombre look.

With all my pieces ready, I assembled them on the card! This is such a fun and unique stamp set so I hope you will check it out in store.

Also, don’t forget to hop along and check out the rest of the team’s blogs today! They all created amazing projects with this set!

VERITY BIDDLECOMBE

MARIE HEIDERSCHEIT <— YOU ARE HERE

CHITRA

AMY

WALESKA GALINDO

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lovely card. Such great colouring!

    Like

Leave a comment