Hello, Sugar! Die Cutting Sentiments

Welcome back! I know I have been away from writing for a while, but I hope to jump back into creating and blogging! We recently moved, and although things are still a bit of a mess, we are slowly getting settled into our new home and familiar with our surroundings.

I was excited to be able to create something in time for this week’s Inspiration Team Hop over at Brutus Monroe. The theme this week is “Die Cutting”. If you follow my cards at all, you know I love me some dies!

I decided to use some of the new sentiment dies that Brutus Monroe will be releasing soon to add a custom sentiment to today’s card. I also used supplies from the ice cream themed INSPIRATION BOX.

Hello, Sugar! Ice cream themed card using the Brutus Monroe Inspiration Kit along with their new sentiment dies. Marie Nicole Designs

I started by stamping out the cute little ice cream using my MISTI and my RAVEN BLACK INK. Then, I colored in the image with my STYLEFILE ALCOHOL MARKERS. I kept the coloring simple, as I wanted to only use blues and greens on this card.

The background was fun to create, as well! I ink blended on just a bit of SPECKLED EGG and ROCK CANDY, and then applied some embossing paste over the MERMAID LAGOON stencil using my PALETTE KNIFE.

Hello, Sugar! Ice cream themed card using the Brutus Monroe Inspiration Kit along with their new sentiment dies. Marie Nicole Designs

As the background was drying, I grabbed my SIZZIX and cut out my sentiment from white cardstock. I used the HELLO die, as well as the LOWERCASE ALPHABET dies from Brutus Monroe. These dies will be available in store in about 3 weeks!

Hello, Sugar! Ice cream themed card using the Brutus Monroe Inspiration Kit along with their new sentiment dies. Marie Nicole Designs

I wanted to keep the colors light and have them all coordinate, so I colored my sentiment pieces with a little more ROCK CANDY. I simply blended on a little more ink. I completely colored the letters that spelled, “sugar”, and then only blended a little on the bottom of the word, “hello”, giving it an ombre look.

I then started to assemble all my pieces on the background to build my card. I used my Brutus Monroe CRAFT GLUE and adhered down my ice cream. I added some extra mint leaves to the right side, as well. Then, I glued my sentiment pieces on over the ice cream. For this, I used my ZIG GLUE PEN. I find this pen is so nice for adhering thin die cuts, since it has a pen-tip that lets you only apply a small amount of glue at a time.

Hello, Sugar! Ice cream themed card using the Brutus Monroe Inspiration Kit along with their new sentiment dies. Marie Nicole Designs

To finish my card, I added a few sequins that I had in my stash, and a cute mint colored flatback pearl from the INSPIRATION BOX. Them, I added just a touch of sparkle to the mint leaves with some WINK OF STELLA!

That’s it for the card today! I hope you enjoyed it!

Please hop along to the rest of the teams’ blogs! I know you will love what they have created as well!

BERINA

WALESKA

SHARON

MARIE <—— YOU ARE HERE!

ALETHA

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment