Brutus Monroe April Subscription Items- BLOG HOP!

Welcome, crafty friends! I am so excited to be hopping along with the Brutus Monroe team again this week! We are focusing on using the subscription items for April for this hop. I chose to use the STENCIL OF THE MONTH, along with the new HAPPY ROSE STAMP SET.

Brutus Monroe- Happy Rose- Stencil of the Month- Marie Nicole Designs

I started by using a piece of SLATE CARDSTOCK. I trimmed this cardstock down to an A2 sized card, and then used a little ALABASTER PIGMENT INK over the APRIL STENCIL in the bottom left corner. I wanted the white to be brighter in the middle, and then fade out into the carstock for a soft pattern behind my rose.

Brutus Monroe- Happy Rose- Stencil of the Month- Marie Nicole Designs (2 of 5)Brutus Monroe- Happy Rose- Stencil of the Month- Marie Nicole Designs (3 of 5)

I stamped my rose out using my MISTI and my COBBLESTONE SURFACE INK. Cobblestone is a color of surface ink available through Pink and Main. It is the same formulation of ink as the Brutus Monroe Surface Inks, but in Pink and Main colors. I wanted a grey so that I could have a softer look, and it would coordinate with the SLATE CARDSTOCK.

I then used my colored pencils to color my rose. I have mostly PRISMACOLOR PENCILS, but I also used a few colors of purple from TOMBOW. The Tombow Irotijen pencils are a bit harder than the soft core of the Prismacolor pencils, but both work great! It just depends on your personal preference.

Brutus Monroe- Happy Rose- Stencil of the Month- Marie Nicole Designs (4 of 5)Brutus Monroe- Happy Rose- Stencil of the Month- Marie Nicole Designs (5 of 5)

After I colored my rose, I fussy cut it out. I also stamped and colored the leaves on another rose, so I could fussy cut those leaves out and layer them around my die cut branches. These branches were cut from some LUNCH BAG CARDSTOCK, and I ink blended a bit of MACCHIATO on them to add some variation in color.

I then popped up my rose over the die cuts, leaves, and stenciled area using foam adhesive. For my sentiment, I chose this stamp from the LOVE BUGS STAMP SET, and stamped it again using COBBLESTONE INK.

To finish this card, I splattered some white paint over my rose and branches using my AQUA PIGMENT BRUSHES. I love the splatters that these brushes can make!

That’s it for my card today, thanks for stopping by! Please follow the links below to hop to the rest of the team’s blog posts for today. Happy hopping!

JESS

DANIEL

LAUREN

LUISANA

BERINA

MARIE


2 Comments Add yours

  1. CopyCatCards says:

    Marie, your card is so incredibly beautiful and so elegant!! I love each and every detail of it!! The softly neutral colors just make it even more special!! Wow!!! Thanks for sharing this! 🙂 XO

    Like

    1. Marie Nicole says:

      Thanks so much, Sharon!! This rose stamp is so gorgeous!

      Like

Leave a comment