Destination China- Spellbinders Dies

Hey, friends! I have some unique dies from SPELLBINDERS to share with you today! These dies are part of their Destination China collection, and they definitely have an Asian flair to them!

Destination China- Spellbinders Dies- Marie Nicole Designs

These dies are definitely intricate, but I had no problems with getting a clean cut as I ran them through my PLATINUM 6. I cut this square die out from some shiny, gold paper. I love the combination of the gold, the SCARLET CARDSTOCK, and the black cardstock.

I tried to keep this card design fairly simple, since the die itself is definitely the star of the show! I adhered the gold die cut part over a strip of my Scarlet red cardstock. Then, cut the die again out of black cardstock.

Destination China- Spellbinders Dies- Marie Nicole Designs

I set the black cardstock die to the side for another project (which I will share at the end of this post!), and I used the little cut out pieces to fill in some of the spaces of the gold die. Then, I adhered all the die cut pieces onto a black card base.

Destination China- Spellbinders Dies- Marie Nicole DesignsDestination China- Spellbinders Dies- Marie Nicole Designs

To finish this card, I simply embossed the “thanks” sentiment in GILDED EMBOSSING POWDER. The sentiment is from the Spellbinder’s clear stamp set, THANKS A BUNCH.

For my next card, I decided to try to create a blossom background behind this chinese window die by doing some simple watercoloring.

Destination China- Spellbinders Dies- Marie Nicole Designs

I used my AQUA PIGMENTS and painted some simple blossoms and branches, adding some splatters to finish it. Then, after my painting was dry, I die cut this window die three times, stacked and adhered them together, and then added them to the front of my painted panel.

Destination China- Spellbinders Dies- Marie Nicole Designs

Then, I added a square of that same golden paper to the middle, and embossed the same “thanks” sentiment that I used on my first card. I love how you can keep cards simple with these dies, since they are so detailed themselves!

After I was done with these cards, I decided to have a little fun and do a “bonus” project. I thought that the square die was just the right size and shape to try to create a little tabletop lantern, and I love how it turned out!

Destination China- Spellbinders Dies- Marie Nicole DesignsDestination China- Spellbinders Dies- Marie Nicole Designs

For this lantern, I cut three panels of black cardstock, and made sure they were each a bit longer than the die so I could score and fold one side over. I used these folds to adhere the three sides together. For the front, I cut a piece of vellum, and made sure I could fold over both sides. This way, I could adhere the vellum to the front by using my tape adhesive and gluing those tabs to the insides of the lantern (Hope that makes sense!).

Destination China- Spellbinders Dies- Marie Nicole DesignsDestination China- Spellbinders Dies- Marie Nicole Designs

Then, I just added details on the sides by die cutting the square die out of both gold and black cardstock. All that was left to do was to place a little battery candle inside. I wasn’t quite able to show the glow on photographs, but I think this would be a pretty little decoration on top of a party table, don’t you?

Thanks so much for stopping by! I hope this gives you some inspirational ideas on how to use these dies in your own crafting. If you are interested, please hop on over to SPELLBINDERS to check them out!

Until next time,
Marie Nicole


One Comment Add yours

  1. crafteeme says:

    What amazing projects! Especially love the lantern! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a comment