Jane Davenport BLOG HOP + Watercoloring with Mermaid Markers

Hey, friends! Thanks for hopping along with us to celebrate all the gorgeous Jane Davenport goodies available over at Spellbinders! Today, I’m playing with Jane’s Mermaid Markers. These markers are a watercolor marker filled with lovely ink colors. I’m using these markers with some glimmered images to create fun slimline cards AND a few bookmarks!

These Mermaid Markers have a soft brush tip, so you can use them to apply color directly onto your paper, or you can drop color onto a palette and then use a waterbrush or paintbrush to apply to your paper. They’re very versatile and can be blended together and even used to splatter!

Watercolor Over Foil

Like I mentioned, I decided to watercolor over some foiled images. I used the Glimmering Peony glimmer plate to foil some gorgeous blooms onto Bristol Smooth Paper. Not only does Bristol paper work well with foiling because it is so smooth, but the watercolor from the markers move around the paper better when used with a water brush. This paper gave me best results for these projects today!

After I had my flowers watercolored, I actually cut them down to a slimline card size. This left me with a few strips of cardstock with portions of the flower glimmered and colored onto. I hated the thought of these going to waste, so I added some bakers twine to the top to turn them into bookmarks!

Spellbinders has a lovely stamp set full of quotes about flowers. I found a few quotes that worked well on these bookmarks and stamped them on using black ink.

I added these watercolored panels onto a slimline card base with foam adhesive after I glimmered some stripes and polka dots onto the background using black foil. The black really makes the watercolors pop! The sentiments are also glimmered and die cut before adhering with liquid glue.

Watercoloring with these Mermaid Markers was so fun and relaxing! I added color to the glimmered image and then spread that color out using a water brush. You really dont need to add much color at a time- these markers are so vibrant that a little color goes a long way!

Thanks for stopping by today! I hope this gives you a little watercolor inspiration. Please continue hopping by following the list below:

Spellbinders Blog

Annie Williams

Marie Heiderscheit <—— YOU ARE HERE

Ilina Crouse

Jennifer Snyder

Linh Van

Deborah Jenkins

Virginia Lu

Jessica Vasher

Rosemary Dennis

Heather Hoffman

Jennifer Kotas

Natasha Vacca

Norine Borys

***GIVEAWAY!***

To celebrate this event, we are giving away a $50 gift certificate to 3 lucky blog readers ā€“ selected from the comments on our blog. Giveaway closes on Sunday, July 4th 11:59 pm EDT. The winners will be announced in the blog hop post the following Wednesday. Winner is responsible for shipping cost, duties and taxes.

Supplies Used:


https://linkdeli.com/widget.js?id=f5e8378456858c916708

53 Comments Add yours

  1. Rosemarie Crawford says:

    Lovely projects here especially with the addition of the vivid inky watercolors!

    Like

  2. Karen Erickson says:

    Lovely cards, love the slimline

    Like

Leave a comment