Color Crush BLOG HOP!

Welcome back, friends! Today I am hopping along with the Brutus Monroe design team! The theme for this week’s hop was COLOR CRUSH. We all based our creations off of this photo for inspiration:

58372585_10157256083009507_4616667149698596864_n

So many bright, summery colors! I cannot wait to see what the rest of the team came up with! Please stick with me until the end so you can follow the list of names and hop along, too!

For my card, I used the WAVES BACKGROUND STAMP from Brutus Monroe. I stamped it using EMBOSSING INK, and then embossed it in ALABASTER WHITE POWDER.

Brutus Monroe- Waves Background- Shaker Card- Marie Nicole Designs

After I had the stamped background embossed, I used my SURFACE INKS and my BLENDING BRUSHES to ink blend over the waves using colors to match the inspiration photo. The embossed lines of the stamp acted as a resist, and made that white embossing powder really stand out.

Brutus Monroe- Waves Background- Shaker Card- Marie Nicole Designs

Next, I cut a frame from some GLITTERSTOCK by using some of the Rectangle Dies from Brutus Monroe. Sadly, these dies are no longer available, but you could easily use any of your own basic shapes dies. I used the largest die, and then placed the next size down inside the larger one. I taped both dies down onto the Glitterstock so they would stay in place, and then just ran them through my PLATINUM 6. This created my frame!

I also cut a piece of orange craft foam the same way, by layering the two rectangle dies together to create a frame. I then was able to build a shaker window by gluing a piece of acetate between the glitterstock and foam.

Brutus Monroe- Waves Background- Shaker Card- Marie Nicole Designs

Once, the glue was dry on my window, I dumped a good amount of shiny gold confetti onto my waves background, being careful to keep it in a tidy pile right in the center of the card. Then, I glued the framed window over the confetti. Easy shaker card!

Brutus Monroe- Waves Background- Shaker Card- Marie Nicole Designs

Lastly, I used some of the sentiment and alphabet dies from Brutus Monroe to cut some RAVEN CARDSTOCK. I glued all the pieces to the window to have it read, “Happy BDAY”.

Such a fun card to make and share! I hope you enjoyed it! Please hop along with the team to see what they have created for today’s hop. Happy hopping!

DANIEL

JESS

LAUREN

BERINA 

LUISANA

MARIE


One Comment Add yours

  1. Cassie T says:

    This is gorgeous, Marie! And those colors really put me in the mood for summer 😊

    Like

Leave a comment